Skip to navigation – Site map

5 | 2009
Le paradigme du Mur dans le monde contemporain : évolution et perspectives 1989-2009

The Wall as a contemporary global paradigm: evolution and perspectives 1989-2009
Edited by Hélène YÈCHE
Berlin wall
More about this picture
Credits : mafate69, licence Creative Commons sur Flickr

This issue of Cahiers du Mimmoc results from the Day Conferences organised on 8-9th October 2009 on the "Paradigm of the Wall in contemporary society. The research presented here is part of the cultural and political poles for the MIMMOC research team at the University of Poitiers. The main aim of our laboratory is to explore issues of "Memory, Identiry and Marginality in contemporary Western cultures".

Twenty years after the fall of the Berlin Wall and the physical dissappearance of what is known historically as the "Wall of Shame", wall-frontiers remain on the surface of the globe and in people's minds. The Paradigm of the Wall, as a representation of the world and a spatial translation of conflict, appears to have experienced an even greater interest, and has led to its use by a wider range of disciplines.

Whether it be the "wall in people's minds" between Ossies and Wessies which soon became a characteristic of German Unification (G.Badia, 1991) or the "wall of denial" surrounding the Genocide of Armenians in Turkey, the wall erected by the United States along the Mexican frontier to prevent immigration, the cultural and geographical wall that separates the 93 Paris suburban departement from Paris intra muros, or again, the gap between the two Europes "threat of a new Iron Curtain" (La Stampa, mars 2009), the paradigm of the Wall was far from over on the evening of 9th November 1989, including on German soil.  The artistic dimensions of the paradigm of the Wall must also not be forgotten, often criticised, often polemical (and therefore political). These became evident from the beginning with the impact of the 13th August 1961, in European cultural practices and beyond, which have continued to evolve since 1989.

Navigation – Plan du site

5 | 2009
Le paradigme du Mur dans le monde contemporain : évolution et perspectives 1989-2009

The Wall as a contemporary global paradigm: evolution and perspectives 1989-2009
Sous la direction de Hélène YÈCHE
Berlin wall
Informations sur cette image
Crédits : mafate69, licence Creative Commons sur Flickr

Ce numéro des Cahiers du Mimmoc est issu des journées d’études du 8 et 9 octobre 2009  sur le "Paradigme du Mur" dans le monde contemporain. Les travaux présentés s’inscrivent dans les axes culturel et politique du laboratoire MIMMOC de l’université de Poitiers, dont l’objectif est d’explorer les questions de "Mémoire, Identités et Marginalités au sein du Monde Occidental Contemporain".

Vingt ans après la chute du Mur de Berlin et la disparition physique de ce que l’histoire appelait le "mur de la honte", force est de constater qu’il existe encore des murs-frontières à la surface du globe comme dans les mentalités : le paradigme du Mur, en tant que représentation du monde et traduction spatiale d’un donné conflictuel, semble même connaître depuis cette date un regain d’intérêt, qui conduit des disciplines de plus en plus nombreuses et variées à en faire usage.

Qu’il s’agisse du "mur dans les têtes" entre Ossis et Wessis qui n’a pas tardé à caractériser l’unification allemande (G.Badia, 1991) ou du "mur du déni du génocide des Arméniens" en Turquie, du mur érigé par les Etats-Unis à la frontière mexicaine pour freiner l’immigration, du mur à la fois culturel et géographique qui sépare le 9-3 de Paris intra muros, ou encore de la fracture entre deux Europes, "spectre d’un nouveau Rideau de fer" (La Stampa, mars 2009), le paradigme du Mur est loin de s’être achevé au soir du 9 novembre 1989, y compris sur le sol allemand. Il ne faut pas non plus oublier la portée artistique, souvent critique et polémique (et donc politique) du paradigme du Mur qui s’est révélée dès l’impact du 13 août 1961, dans les pratiques culturelles européennes et au-delà, et qui a continué d’évoluer depuis 1989.